Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

danvilleguy925

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 15, 2016
Halfway through my trip in Maui, Hawaii (no Apple stores on the island) my iPhone 6 decided it was going to stop charging. It simply would not do anything when I plugged it into my lighting cable (which is a Apple product). I even tried it with my wife's cord and it still wouldn't charge.

Right before the phone died I managed to hard reset the phone thinking that might help, but it still wouldn't charge. It did start saying "This accessory may not be supported" when I plugged it in after the hard reset. It ended up dying and I had not phone to take pictures with or manage my social media platforms from... Luckily I was able to use my wife's phone to get me through the rest of the weeks since I do social media for a living.

Upon returning to the mainland I went straight to the Apple store where I expected to have the phone swapped out since I still am covered under Applecare. I waited well over an hour to have them diagnose the phone and they ended up telling me they had to send it to their repair facility to validate that I didn't put any "3rd party parts" in the phone?! That was frustrating. They called me 5 days later saying I could come in and pick up a new replacement phone. I picked up the phone and went back to work and let it download my iCloud backup. When I got home later that day I plugged it in to charge and it said "This accessory may not be supported" and wouldn't charge!? I about lost my mind. This was supposedly a new phone. After trying to plug it in about 30 times it finally charged.