Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MBrokensword

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 28, 2024
Hello; I'm new to having a cell phone and have a used iphone se gen 2. I'm trying to figure out if there's a way to upload TO the phone some mp3 songs and have either Music play them in a playlist or some other app to do this. Spent an hour with a supposed Apple expert with no joy. I don't use icloud, or any cloud service and would like my phone to basically act like my ipod once did. Is there way? I'm using an older iMac (High Sierra), iTunes (12.8), and cannot get iOS17.5 to sync. Which is fine if I can find a way to do what I outlined above. I have figured out how to upload via Airdrop, the music in mp3 form. I put them in 'Files'. That's as far as I can get. They'll each play fine. When I go to Music, create new playlist, there's no option for me to tell the app where the files are ON the phone. Which seems odd in so many ways. Has anyone else accomplished what is so easy on my old mac, on their iphone? What is the secret?

kitKAC

macrumors 6502a
Feb 26, 2022
Install a more recent version of macOS that supports iOS 17 so you can put music on your device.

MBrokensword

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 28, 2024
Install a more recent version of macOS that supports iOS 17 so you can put music on your device.