Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Macmonter

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 14, 2008
Vermont, USA
Hi Mac folks! I'm back to Mac after 8 years of using a PC exclusively. This is my first submission to the Mac Forum so please forgive me if I'm in the wrong forum, too wordy or I'm presenting a problem that has been discussed already. I'm a photo hobbyist who recently bought a Mac Pro with Parallels and XP. My old HP Photosmart 7850 printer and an Epson Perfection 1640SU scanner are connected with the latest drivers installed by the Apple retailer. The new Mac replaced an 8 year old Compac PC running Windows 98SE. I regularly archived the PC's files onto CDs including nearly 3K of my photos which originated from digital cameras or from color slides, prints and color and b/w negatives scanned on the Epson 1640SU.

My problem is with importing the b/w images from a CD to iPhoto. All the color images import with no problem, but most of the b/w appear as a black box with no apparent image either in Events or Albums. When the black box is expanded, the b/w image appears dark and translucent with the iPhoto window contents visible thru the image. This happens with a majority of the b/w images, and I have not found any commonality with those that did import correctly or with those that didn't. Disabling the the 'Embed ColorSnc profile in iPhoto Preferences made no difference (I admit that I don't know what the ColorSync profile does). My Photoshop Elements 6 would not load the corrupted images. Interestingly, when the b/w images are displayed in Preview from the CD, all appear with no problem. Also, the Windows Picture Viewer on the XP side of my Mac displays all the b/w with no problem.