Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

HighHeat14

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 29, 2008
I hope this is the correct forum to ask this question...

I'm far from an expert on digital photo editing, obviously. But I want to use a photo that I already have, and edit it to make it look cool/nice/whatever, get it printed/framed and give it to my wife as a gift.

The only software I have is iPhoto. Can anyone here tell me any cool editing ideas (rookie level)? I recently saw a photo that had the color effect(cartoon like) of the people that are in the photo, but everything in the background was black & white. Can this type of editing be done in iPhoto? Or am I getting in over my head and need to stick with jewelry as the gift? :DThanks!

kidkaprie

macrumors member
Mar 17, 2008
Philadelphia, PA
if you provide the photo you want edited, and an example photo of what you want done, we would be of better service to asses your needs.

it sounds like you want a b&w picture with the people in it to be in colour? am i correct in that statement? while you could probally do that in iphoto...im not sure, as i dont use it...it would be 1000000X easier in photoshop / photoshop elements.

HighHeat14

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 29, 2008
if you provide the photo you want edited, and an example photo of what you want done, we would be of better service to asses your needs.

it sounds like you want a b&w picture with the people in it to be in colour? am i correct in that statement? while you could probally do that in iphoto...im not sure, as i dont use it...it would be 1000000X easier in photoshop / photoshop elements.