Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

enoach

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 21, 2008
ok--I'm new in the Mac owner-thing...

I was setting up iphoto, i hit some deeply unwise keystroke::eek: and now I have 25k+ "photos" in my library--the bad news is that AT LEAST 15k of those "photos" are bizarre screenshots, sample pictures, random images, blurry whatevers, even smiling spongebob and kim possible (i have kids).
iphoto seems to have drawn all this from every corner of my hard drive, the back-up copy of my ex-PC Hard Drive (living quietly, i thought, on my external HD), ad nauseam.

How do get the all non-photo "photos" out of the Library?

even if listed by "events" there are about 857--please tell me there is something else I can do besides manually selecting and deleting hundreds of "events"...

Please? :confused:

iBookG4user

macrumors 604
Jun 27, 2006
Seattle, WA
Do you have any photos you want to keep on there? If not (or they can easily be placed back on the library) you could hit command + A to select all and then delete them by right clicking and moving them to the trash.

richard.mac

macrumors 603
Feb 2, 2007
51.50024, -0.12662
if you know where all your "real" photos are on hard drive backup start afresh by deleting the iPhoto Library in your Pictures folder while iPhoto is closed and then open iPhoto while holding option and create a new library then drag in your "real" photos.

Abstract

macrumors Penryn
Dec 27, 2002
Location Location Location
Delete the iPhoto Library (without deleting the original photos from your external HDD), and choose to import photos yourself. Also, I suggest not letting iPhoto control your library. That way, you don't produce a new copy of all these photos on your Mac harddrive. You can say you want to manage your own files/photos, and keep your photos in the folders they're currently in.

Suspended
Dec 29, 2007