Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Tumbleweed666

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Mar 20, 2009
Near London, UK.
Apologies if this is obvious but I'm new to iPhoto. Is there any way to selectively import from a folder, viewing the photos and just selecting the ones I want to import?
Example ; I might have many hundred's photos on a memory card, I'd like to view them and them import just the 'keepers' into iPhoto. At the moment I import everything and then remove the ones I don't want, which apart from anything else potentially ends up with a bunch of stuff in Time Machine I dont want.
Or is this the sort of function that Lightroom or Aperture will charge a couple hundred dollars for and so isn't in iPhoto?
If so I guess I"ll have to use another app (Preview?) to view the folder beforehand, delete the ones I don't want, and then import.
Seems like bit of a faff and a basic editing task iPhoto should be able to do?

afd

macrumors 65816
Apr 12, 2005
Scotland
Preview has a slideshow facility, you can open a folder, select all, open them in preview, view images as a slideshow(view menu, I think, I'm on a PC at the mo) then go through the slides, there's an icon at the bottom of the slides that adds to iphoto, click that on the pics you want and once you're finished iphoto will open and import selected pics.
Alternatively you can use the Image Capture app to import images and have that send them to iphoto.

Alan

Suspended
Dec 29, 2007
Apologies if this is obvious but I'm new to iPhoto. Is there any way to selectively import from a folder, viewing the photos and just selecting the ones I want to import?