Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Brinadang

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 11, 2018
I currently own a 13 inch Macbook Air. Its not the lastest one, but I bought about 4 years ago.

I want to upgrade to a Pro because I am a video editor, and also I might be shooting 4k. After effects can get really slow on my laptop because I do more intensive editing so I’m hoping to get a faster laptop.

My friend that works at apple recommended me the 15inch because it has a Raedon Pro 560 with 4gb.
Which is great for video makers.
Keep in mind the 13inch does not have it.
But I dont want a bigger heavier laptop. And I’m a student that carries a laptop on the go. And I love the 13inch size.

So, do you think the new 2018 13inch Mac book pro might have the “Raedon Pro 560 with 4gb ram” or general upgrade to be a great for intermediate/intensive video editing?

leman

macrumors Core
Oct 14, 2008
So, do you think the new 2018 13inch Mac book pro might have the “Raedon Pro 560 with 4gb ram” or general upgrade to be a great for intermediate/intensive video editing?

It certainly won't get a dedicated GPU, bit its CPU performance should be significantly higher. The GPU will be more or less the same as the current 13" Pro.

MrGunnyPT

macrumors 65816
Mar 23, 2017
We don't know anything about it..

HOWEVER, we do know that there's a possibility Apple will use the 8th Gen Intel Core i5-8305G Processor with RX Vega M GL.

Which could make a dramatic difference in terms of performance for a 13"

Reactions: KGB7

sublunar

macrumors 68020
Jun 23, 2007
We don't know anything about it..

HOWEVER, we do know that there's a possibility Apple will use the 8th Gen Intel Core i5-8305G Processor with RX Vega M GL.

Which could make a dramatic difference in terms of performance for a 13"