Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

abc123

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Apr 26, 2004
I need to purchase a new digital camera soon and I've been pondering a DSLR for some time. I know the old argument is that if you are not sure if you need something then you probably don't need it but I want some clarification. I've not used a DSLR before and don't have one available to try out before I buy so need some advice.

Basically I am a hobbyist, I enjoy taking photos particularly of nature and urban environments. I have a crappy old canon p&s which is fine for party snaps, throwing in my bag to go out and I don't need to be too precious about it since it was given away free as part of a promotion a few years ago. It is very limiting when I want to take 'nice pictures' though so I've been borrowing my parent's panasonic lumix DMC-TZ3 when I've gone on holidays or out and want some better shots. You can see some of them on my flickr page -link here. Since I don't live particularly close to my parents they are not too thrilled about me always having their camera so I need to get a better one of my own.

I know I am not the best photographer and probably never will be. I do enjoy it and have been playing around with the settings on the P&S cameras I have been using. Do you think I have plenty more to learn using a P&S and a camera similar to the lumix would be best suited or am I be ready to take the step into DSLRs for a little more $$ and actually get something out of it?

Any advice, tips, criticism (constructive of course), etc would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your time.

Doylem

macrumors 68040
Dec 30, 2006
Wherever I hang my hat...