Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

cherry su

macrumors 65816
Feb 28, 2008
Yes it is a good starter camera. If you buy it, take a look at Canon's lenses.
I have a Canon XT (older model) and have bought 2 lenses in addition to the bundled lens!

taintedwheat

macrumors member
Oct 29, 2007
Los Angeles, CA
I had a XS until recently (it got stolen) - but while I had it I loved it! As an absolute beginner, it was more than sufficient for my needs and I felt like I had plenty of room to grow into it. Right now I'm waiting to see what Nikon is going to offer on the 14th but I will likely end up buying another XS... it was a great little camera.

EDIT: Also, you pretty much can't beat the price.

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
I was looking to get in to photography for a hobby and I was looking at the Canon XS ( http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16830120279 ) I just wanted to know if this was good camera for starters or not? or is there a better camera to start out with?

It's a good plan. Spend as litle on the body as you can. Figure it will have a short life, maybe 5 years max. SAve you budget of the lenses as that is what makes the image. You should decide the brand, Canon or Nikon based of the set of lenses you want, even if you don't buy them all at once

FX120

macrumors 65816
May 18, 2007
It's the best starter digital SLR on the market right now.

dr.devious

macrumors regular
Nov 30, 2008
Truckee Meadows, NV
I love my XS, it is a great camera. I got mine for $449 with the kit lens. I was thinking about getting the XSi, but decided that the differences did not justify the $250-300 price jump. With the money I saved I picked up a 50mm lens and a 75-300mm lens.

LittleCanonKid

macrumors 6502
Oct 22, 2008
how do you like your XT... i am debating buying a used one...