Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

NathanD

macrumors member
Original poster
May 15, 2017
Italy
Hi everybody. I'm a CS student and I'm considering buying a new MBP for college since my Windows laptop is getting old. I'd use it especially for programming using Eclipse, Android Studio, Swift etc. and of course for browsing.
I have a limited budget (I can't spend more than 1500€) so I'd go for the nTB MBP, also because I don't really need the new Touch Bar (I like the Touch ID though), and I'd buy a USB type-C hub so two ports are just fine for me. But since this nTB MBP is a sort of new MacBook Air, will the slower processor (2.0GHz 15W with Iris 540) be powerful enough for me?
Also, I can wait until September/October when the new model with Kaby Lake is likely to be released (hoping for a price drop).

Thank you and sorry for my English!

keysofanxiety

macrumors G3
Nov 23, 2011
Yeah the nTB MBP would be absolutely fine. It'll easily do everything you need it to without any complaints.

Reactions: NathanD

gobikerider

Suspended
Apr 15, 2016
United States
Hi everybody. I'm a CS student and I'm considering buying a new MBP for college since my Windows laptop is getting old. I'd use it especially for programming using Eclipse, Android Studio, Swift etc. and of course for browsing.
I have a limited budget (I can't spend more than 1500€) so I'd go for the nTB MBP, also because I don't really need the new Touch Bar (I like the Touch ID though), and I'd buy a USB type-C hub so two ports are just fine for me. But since this nTB MBP is a sort of new MacBook Air, will the slower processor (2.0GHz 15W with Iris 540) be powerful enough for me?
Also, I can wait until September/October when the new model with Kaby Lake is likely to be released (hoping for a price drop).

Thank you and sorry for my English!