Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MadDoc

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Apr 25, 2005
UK
Hi all. First time game developer here (not first time programmer though).

I've been toying with a game idea for several months and I'm at the point where I'm going to start writing code. Obviously I'm a Mac user and I'm going to write the game in Swift using Apple's SpriteKit framework. The game is a top-down management simulation genre (think theme park, prison architect, etc). I can't decide whether to target the Mac desktop or iOS as the primary target. I know there are more iOS devices in the world (and therefore a bigger market) but I'm not convinced a complex game like this would work well on the small iPhone screen and so I'd be primarily targeting the iPad.

My question is this, I favour starting with a Mac desktop game. Do you think there is a viable market (i.e. enough money) to be made trying to sell a Mac only game (given that I should be able to port it to iPad at a later date if its well received)?

Thanks for any insight you might have,

szymczyk

macrumors regular
Mar 5, 2006
For the type of game you plan on making, I recommend using Unity instead of SpriteKit. With Unity you could release your game for Mac, Windows, and Linux with the same source code. Unity also supports iOS and Android so you could port to mobile later. Why make a Mac-only game when Unity makes it easy to add Windows and Linux support to a desktop game?

One more piece of advice. Make a game because you want to make a game, not to make money. If you go into game development to make money, you will probably wind up disappointed. Making people aware of your game is a lot of work, almost as much work as making the game.

zoomos

macrumors newbie
Jun 12, 2009