Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Smileyguy

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Nov 29, 2004
Hi everyone,

I've been lightly researching for the purchase of a camera for a few months, but I want to go and buy it now, and I have narrowed down my requirements to a fairly simple set. They are as follows:

- I'm a very enthusiastic amateur, and I want something that will enable me to play around with manual settings and learn a lot before I take the step up and buy something more substantial
- I want a good zoom function, x10 ideally
- Also looking for good video function
- Something that is 'quick'. Apologies for my lack of lingo, but what I mean is that I want something that can capture motion well. A good range of shutter speeds would be nice.
- Budget of $500

I presume my desire for a video function eliminates entry-level DSLRs? I'm just presuming they don't have such a feature, so I guess I'm looking for a high-end compact.

Any suggestions would be really appreciated.

Thanks a million,

SG

seany916

macrumors 6502
Jun 26, 2006
Southern California
Canon & Nikon both have great cameras in the $500 range.

Xti & D40 both come to mind.

There are other brands as well Olympus, Pentax...

but Nikon & Canon are the easiest to get lenses for due to their popularity. Be aware that the lower end dSLRs might not have internal motors to drive specific lenses. (don't worry if it's the kit lens)

If you have a local Costco, check out their selection of low end dSLRs. If you don't like it, they have a great return policy (never had to use it, but it's good to know it's there).

Anything with a kit lens of of at least 18 would be great. 18-135, 18-200 Wide counts more than zoom for most pictures.

The wider the range, the more flexibility for you. I'd get the one with the largest range for the zoom.