Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

davehodge

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 23, 2008
Hi, im pretty new to the macs but have been using pc's, windows for approx 25 years.
Im hoping some of you guys may be able to help me here. I want to import the jpegs off my canon a640 and put them onto an ext hard drive. My imac sees the hard drive and the folders contained on it but doesnt see my camera. If i go into iphoto i can import the pics there. But i would just like to be able to see the camera as just another usb storage device. i have 3 different accounts set up on the mac for myself , my wife and our business. the idea of the ext hard drive is that each account can access it and take out whichever pics need working with. i dont particularly like the way iphoto just assumes all responsibility for how they are organised. i just want a folder with jpegs in it .

Hope someone can help, its driving me nuts.

Dave

MisterMe

macrumors G4
Jul 17, 2002
USA
... I want to import the jpegs off my canon a640 and put them onto an ext hard drive. My imac sees the hard drive and the folders contained on it but doesnt see my camera. If i go into iphoto i can import the pics there. But i would just like to be able to see the camera as just another usb storage device. ...

Hope someone can help, its driving me nuts.

Dave
The problem is not with your Mac. Neither is it with iPhoto. iPhoto allows you to manage your photographs as you want--either automatically or manually where ever you stored them. Any camera that fully implements the USB Automount standard will mount as a storage volume on your Desktop. I have $20 keychain cameras that work just fine in this regard. For reasons known only to Canon, it chose not to fully implement the USB Automount standard. I love Canon as a brand, but I will not buy its digital still cameras for this reason.