Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mfarrar

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 16, 2009
Hi all,

I am a beginner and posted a few pics for critique a while back. I have just got back from a holiday in cornwall and these are a couple of my favourite pictures I took down there. I Would appreciate any tips on how to improve them, I have not done any postprocessing.

Cheers, Mark

DSC00850.jpg

DSC00848.jpg

Phrasikleia

macrumors 601
Feb 24, 2008
Over there------->
OK, here's my $0.02.

They both would have benefited from better lighting. I suppose you were trying to capture a sort of melancholic mood, but you still need a certain quality of light to pull it off. The castle in the first picture is probably best shot early in the morning, when it won't be backlit. Likewise for the boat: it's not getting any light in this picture, so the eye tends to go to the (rather unrewarding) light part of the sky instead.

As for composition:

The horizon line in the first shot runs right across the middle of the photo, leaving us with a lot of uninteresting sky at the top of the frame. That line would be better placed much higher in the frame. This shot would benefit from a composition that uses the thirds; not all do, but this one certainly would. I would place the castle at the intersection of the thirds and let the water line run across the upper horizontal.

The second shot is too wide and likewise has the water line running right across the middle of the frame. Your subject gets lost in the frame because it is too small in relation to the setting. Also, it has about the same visual weight as that small bunch of rocks in the water, so there is some competition going on there that is not helping. It probably would have been better to wait for the boat to get closer and therefore be larger in the frame. But with both shots, the light was working against you anyway.

As for technical issues: