Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

berkleeboy210

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Sep 2, 2004
Boston, Massachusetts
Hi gang,

Just bit the bullet and bought an SLR. Circuit City was doing a promotion on the XSi.

Got the Camera with the 18-55mmIS kit lens, the Rebel XSi Starter kit, with a good size bag, an extra battery, a filter, and a 4gb SDHC Card all for $749.

:)

What would be a good lens investment for me? I'm a beginner, and normally go on trips and would have this with me. I was thinking of maybe a 75-300mm.

Any suggestions and or tips would be great.

Unfortunately, Circuit City was out of stock on the camera, but the Starter Kit, so I gotta wait a week for the Camera to be shipped direct! ugh

ChrisBrightwell

macrumors 68020
Apr 5, 2004
Huntsville, AL
Use the kit lens until you really understand its limitations and what you want out of your next lens.

The 50mm f/1.8 II is a no-brainer, IMO. Paired with the kit, you've got a great lens combo.

The 75-300 is a pretty crap lens. The 70-300 IS is much better. For the same money you could get the 70-200 f/4 L, which is a really outstanding lens.

miloblithe

macrumors 68020
Nov 14, 2003
Washington, DC
I've been really surprisingly happy with the 55-250 f/4-5.6 IS lens. I think for $280 it's a pretty impressive lens.

But I'd agree with CrackedButter: just use the 18-55 for a while until you get a better idea of what it is you're missing. You might decide that you want to be able to take close ups of really small things and decided a macro lens is for you. You might want to be able to have very shallow depth of field or be able to shoot without a flash in lower light, and then an f/1.8 or 1.4 lens sounds ideal. Or you might realize you like taking pictures of things that are much farther away than you can zoom with your feet. Then you'll want a telephoto lens.