Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

CP1091

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 28, 2007
I finally took the plunge into the more advanced side of photography, and bought myself a Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi, that came with an EF 50mm 1:1.8 II. Now as this lens has helped me get into the swing of things with a DSLR, I am looking for a lens that would suit me better for sporting events, or possibly more of a zoom lens. Now I am a student, so of course the budget it tight, that is why I am looking for some guidance on what I could purchase that is not the best out there, but quality for the value.

Thanks!

taylorwilsdon

macrumors 68000
Nov 16, 2006
New York City
I finally took the plunge into the more advanced side of photography, and bought myself a Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi, that came with an EF 50mm 1:1.8 II. Now as this lens has helped me get into the swing of things with a DSLR, I am looking for a lens that would suit me better for sporting events, or possibly more of a zoom lens. Now I am a student, so of course the budget it tight, that is why I am looking for some guidance on what I could purchase that is not the best out there, but quality for the value.

Thanks!

70-200f/4L is the fastest zoom on a budget (although we don't know your budget) that I can think of. Good for daylight sports.

TatsuTerror

macrumors regular
Jan 1, 2008
I've got a Tamron 28-300mm lens, it costs about $400. The quality doesn't match that of the more expensive Canon lenses, but for the price it is really great. It's also very compact when at the lowest focal length. It is a wonderful all-purpose lens, especially good for sports because of the telephoto end.

taylorwilsdon

macrumors 68000
Nov 16, 2006
New York City