Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

student_trap

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Mar 14, 2005
'Ol Smokey, UK
hello all, I have searched this question but i seem to be getting older threads that dont refer to photoshop cs3 extended itself.

basically I recently purchased CS3, without ever using it before, and am looking for advice on books or other methods of tuition on how to really get to grips with photoshop.

as i said i have never used it before, and after playing around with it for a week, i am definitely improving, but would like to be shown why some things work while others dont (i.e. the basics of how the program works) in order to have more control over what i want to craete, while also learning new techniques that i never even knew existed!

The main things i am interesting in learning are how to play with the RAW images from my Canon D400, while also how to heavily manipualte photos and also create things from scratch.

any ideas? All will of course be very welcome!

iMpathetic

macrumors 68030
Oct 7, 2007
IMBY
well, short of just fooling around with it extensively, might I reccomend the Missing Manual series?

student_trap

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Mar 14, 2005
'Ol Smokey, UK
thanks for all the responses so far!

I had a look at this and it seemed like it would be very useful, however i wonder whether it may be too advanced? also, it seemed not to deal with heavy photo manipulation. perhaps not, but i am definitely looking to get something that will show me the very basics as so far i am managing to create things that aren't bad (i assume :confused:) for a beginner, yet I am continuously coming face to face with problems which occur in some instances and not in others, and i have no idea why! it is these questions that i need answers to, and beyond that tutorials on how to really move forward with the software.

Lovesong

macrumors 65816