Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Jason Beck

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Oct 19, 2009
Cedar City, Utah
The Canon EOS XS model. It's all I could afford at the moment. I heard it is really decent to get started with. Do any of you guys know any good books for the camera, or any good sites (that really are not hard to understand for a noob? ahaha). Specifically too I want to learn the terminology as well. I have a photography class coming, and I want to take my graphic arts degree in this direction. I do a lot of portraits with point and shoot, but I have outgrown them.
About a week ago I was at WalMart and I picked up the Rebel and started using it just taking photos of the wife there, and fell in love. It's a pretty awesome camera and was easy to understand. The auto mode functions seemed to really perform well too. That was a big deal to me since I am still learning.

Anyways, if anyone has any good bookmarks, please post em. I could use the help. I also was wondering what sort of telephoto lenses are out there for the Canon that are affordable and somewhat sharp at a distance. I want to start shooting some sports events this summer. Thanks!!!

Also since I just have the packaged lens, would it be prudent to get a UV filter for my outside work?

flosseR

macrumors 6502a
Jan 1, 2009
the cold dark north
so many questions, so little space to write..
I don't want to publicize my site but I have taken the "starters and beginners" approach and have several short but easy explanations about Photographic terminologies and functions on my site (look under the EXPLAiNED section, if you want to).
Now, first off, I think any DSLR that can provide the basic functions is a great starter and i would like to welcome you to the community :)