Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

chardy

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 2, 2007
Your thoughts please...

I do video and sound but I'm a brand new photographer. Got myself a new canon digital rebel. My photo editing skills extend to iPhoto (which i understand is great for people who have no idea what they are doing) :p I would like to get a better editor. I'm eager to learn. I can get Aperture and Photoshop CS3 at the same price, about $300. Of course, once i get some decent pics to edit i will do the free aperture trial, and i have a buddy that can show me PS. So.... new photographer+new camera=i have no idea which to get. let me know. thanks

chardy

devilot

Moderator emeritus
May 1, 2005
Photoshop. If I understand the very basic premise of Aperture correctly, it's more of a photo importer/ organizer, granted, it's more complex and feature-rich than just that... but for actually tweaking photos? I don't think you can beat PS. :)

beige matchbox

macrumors 6502a
Mar 16, 2005
Oxfordshire, UK
If your just starting, consider photoshop elements. As well as being perfectly good for most people (i've been using the reduced photoshop since 5), it's also a lot cheaper.

I think since using Elements/LE i've wished i was using the full version maybe a half dozen times, and that must be over 6 or 7 years :cool:

Having said all that, i'm sure if a copy of CS3 landed on my desk i'd quickly get used to all the advanced gubbins :rolleyes:

chardy

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 2, 2007
two examples

here are two examples. it's just iPhoto. Minor edits.

Attachments

• Pool.jpg
    Pool.jpg
    178.2 KB · Views: 84
  • My house.jpg
    My house.jpg
    156.6 KB · Views: 83

bmat

macrumors 6502
Nov 24, 2004
East Coast, USA
what is it you want to do?