Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

termina3

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jul 16, 2007
TX
Hey guys,

I'm in the market for a very lightly used (or new) extra battery for my D300; the Nikon-proscribed type is the EN-EL3e.

On KEH, I searched EN-EL3e, to find this:

http://www.keh.com/OnLineStore/ProductList.aspx?Mode=searchproducts&item=0&ActivateTOC2=false&ID=&Size=&BC=&BCC=&CC=&CCC=&BCL=&GBC=&GCC=&KW=en-el3e

Two apparently identical batteries sold at different prices. Please note the "(synergy)" notation in the second selection.

What's the difference? Obviously cheaper is better, unless I'm making a sacrifice of some sort.

onomatopoeia

macrumors 6502
Dec 9, 2007
Synergy is a 3rd party part which is compatible. I have no personal experience but I have read good things about it. Of course, it's pretty tough to screw up a battery these days.

GoCubsGo

macrumors Nehalem
Feb 19, 2005
I went to Calumet and asked for the same battery. They handed me their branded one. I never buy third party batteries, never had any luck with them. However, Calumet is local to me and I can certainly rant like none other if the battery winds up screwing things up. Plus I was leaving for a trip in 3 days and didn't want to chance having only one battery. Though I never even used it. ;)

jake-g

macrumors member
Feb 28, 2008
I wrestled with this dilemma also when shopping for some spare batteries. Ultimately I decided it was not wise to spend 2,000 dollars on a camera and then try to save 20 bucks on a battery.

GoCubsGo

macrumors Nehalem
Feb 19, 2005
I wrestled with this dilemma also when shopping for some spare batteries. Ultimately I decided it was not wise to spend 2,000 dollars on a camera and then try to save 20 bucks on a battery.

For me I wasn't trying to save money. It's what I was handed and no Nikon branded batteries insight to buy. But I totally understand your position there as it is mine.