Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

buywisdom

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 17, 2005
Someone a while back was telling me about a cross America trip between 50 and 150 years ago where large formate photos were taken to capture the West. I think the photos are in the Smithsonian or some other archive. My question is who were these people and where can I see these pictures.

Thanks

GoCubsGo

macrumors Nehalem
Feb 19, 2005
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/3A109a Safari/419.3)

I think I know who you're talking about but I'd have to look at my notes when I studied the history of photography. You could go to www.masters-of-photography.com and see if anything there jogs your memory.

Macerture

macrumors member
Jan 2, 2008
Dirty Jersey
seems you may be speaking of Ansel Adams.. Certainly done with a view camera and definitely done for the US government US Parks Commission and it was almost all 'out west'.. not in the 150 year range though - more like 60 years.. Though, I don't really follow other's works much.

art gardiner

macrumors member
Jun 12, 2007
Cairo, Egypt
If you're talking about the FSA (Farmer Security Administration) of the 1930's it was part of the OWI - a movement started by the government to complement the "New Deal". Basically, they were trying to get people back to work, and producing crops to be able to feed America during, and after the depression. Roy Stryker was given the task of hiring photographers to help spin the effort by documenting the move west.

Some of the more notable photographers that came out of this time were:

Ben Shahn
Dorothea Lange
Paul Taylor
Walker Evans
Margaret Bourke-White

If you look into the Library of Congress' Web site, look under FSA/OWI, migrant workers, tenant farmers, and the dust bowl - you'll find much of what you're looking for.

HTH's