Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jupiter

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 12, 2006
The Lake District, England
Im sorry about this guys, I know you get bombarded by these threads all the time but I just wanted some last minute opinions on this setup I'm about to buy. Im an Architecture student studying in the UK and need (well, mostly want!) a decent camera (and lenses) to fit my subject. So here goes, my choice is...

Canon 400D (rebel xti)
Canon EF-S 10-22mm
Canon Ef 28-105 f3.5-4.5 USM II

If you feel there are any better alternatives or have some general tips for shooting architecture please let me know.

Thanks in advance!

J

EstorilM

macrumors regular
Jan 7, 2007
The EF-S lens would be a much better purchase for architecture photography due to the quality of the optics - large zoom-factor lenses like the 28-105 offer more range, but at the price of barrel / pincushion distortion which is the LAST thing you want with architectural things. The wide EF-S will keep things more true to form, in addition to being a higher quality lens in general.

I'd rather have a number of more specific (maybe even "exotic") lenses that perform great, than to have one "do it all" lens that's simply average.

I'd start out with what you mentioned, and move on from there.

edit: wait, you said your "choice is" then listed those lenses, so I figured you were comparing them? If you're going to get all of the above then it would make more sense haha.

jupiter

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 12, 2006
The Lake District, England