Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

beingme

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 21, 2006
What is the best way to learn photography? How did you learn to take pictures? Personal experience (trial and error) or a class?

DVNIEL

Cancelled
Oct 28, 2003
I'm new to the photography scene myself. But I think the best way to learn is to take up some classes at your local community college or digital photography club.

Another new idea that has just brought about is Apple's new (well not technically new) One2One program. It says that they can teach you about photography, how to take better pictures and use iPhoto or Aperture to enhance them.

Good luck with your new hobby

Lovesong

macrumors 65816
Start with this . It's really an excellent resource, and if you're the type of person that can pick something up like that, it would be a great start. Classes help, but to me, having someone explain to you how to be creative and capture what you see seems silly. It should come from within. The actual techniques are fairly simple. Good luck.

Macanadian

macrumors member
Sep 11, 2006
BC
Learning photography

I'm a self taught photographer. But back in high school, they did a job practicum placement (during spring break). and I wanted to go in a photography field and was placed in a photography studio. What the guy taught me I've still retained and follow.

I noticed quite a bit of difference in talking to some people whom spent two years at a photography school and myself. I know the process of taking the photo, but not the technical terms. A person whom taken all the courses seems to know more details then myself.

If you want to learn it as a hobby, try a photography club. They have lots of speakers (depending on how active the club), field trips, critiques, etc, etc. or night school.