Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

nidserz

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Mar 28, 2008
Dubai x Toronto
Hi everyone,
I've been hovering around this section as I just got into photography late into the summer.

I have a Canon Rebel XSi (450D) with the 18-55mm IS Kit Lens.

However, I am going back home to Dubai in Christmas and I wanted advice on a lens. I am mostly interested in landscapes, skylines, etc.
I would like something with a greater zoom as the Kit Lens is doing fine for things further away. I feel the zoom is too little on the 18-55.

I'm a total noob and would like to spend around $300CAD.
I looked at the 75-300mm lens (Canon EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 II USM Lens) but I heard it wasn't that good. I have heard good things about the 55-250mm IS lense which is a little bit more than what I would like to spend, but if it is worth it I will put in the extra cash.

Just please advise me on a lens you think best suits cityscapes/landscapes with a zoom.
I am not one to change the lens much, but only when I know I'm going somewhere specific to shoot.

Thanks

nidserz

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Mar 28, 2008
Dubai x Toronto
^^ Thanks.

I could spend $300 USD+ (Canadian is weak now lol). Budget isn't too big of a deal, just want an idea on what is out there for around $300.
I will be making a trip to the States so any advice would be great. Thanks!

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
.... I am mostly interested in landscapes, skylines, etc.
I looked at the 75-300mm lens (Canon EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 II USM Lens) but I heard it wasn't that good. I have heard good things about the 55-250mm IS lense which is a little bit more than what I would like to spend,