Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Josh396

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Oct 16, 2004
Peoria/Chicago, IL
A few days ago I ordered this Canon lens. I currently have a XTi with the kit lens and the "nifty fifty" which I picked up a few weeks back. My goal was to get a decent lens that I could use to replace the kit lens while getting a little more zoom at the same time. However, I today I saw this lens for $20 less. The extra money isn't that important to me but I was wondering if the sigma is an overall better lens. I plan on using the lens for sports and some outdoors/wildlife. I know that both of those lenses may not be the best for either of those two things, but since I'm just getting started I didn't want to put a lot of money into a single lens until I was really comfortable. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Scarlet Fever

macrumors 68040
Jul 22, 2005
Bookshop!
The sigma will give you a noticeable increase in range, but the images which will come out of it are going to be much more blurry (softer).

I think if you want range, you should keep your nifty fifty and get the EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM. You'll lose the wide angle side of things, but this lens is much better suited for sports and wildlife shots.

Josh396

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Oct 16, 2004
Peoria/Chicago, IL
I contemplated getting the 70-300 instead of the 28-135 but I thought the 28-135 would be a better lens to bring with me wherever I go. I planned on getting the 70-300mm down the road if I felt I needed the added range.

I'm guessing I should rephrase my question a little bit. If I plan on getting the 70-300 sometime in the future, is it a waste to get the Sigma lens over the 28-135 Canon?

Thanks for the response Scarlet Fever.

Scarlet Fever

macrumors 68040
Jul 22, 2005
Bookshop!