Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

rglatter

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 24, 2006
Arkansas
Hello Everyone,
I have been lurking here in the digital photography fourms for a while, Ive been itnerested in photography and I have now saved up enough to buy myself an XTi. My main problem with it is lenses. I am very new to all this so I am not looking to spend a ton of money. My budget for the camrea and 2 lenses or the camera kit and one lense is around $1600. I have read that the kit lense with the XTi is not the best lense out there.

Primarly my photography is going to be portirat type shots of my faimly primarly my little sister(4 months) some action shots of my brother(8) doing sports and things. I am also interested into getting into landscape and arcuitecture photography. I also am going to be doing some macro type shots of model cars that I build.

I know that I am going to need a close up lens (25-70?? or somthing similar) for the pictures of my faimly. The faimly shots will probobly be an even ballence of indors and outdoor shots.

The zoom lens that I have been looking at is a 300mm lens, just because it seems like a very verstile lens and I can do alot with it. Is this what you would recomend. or mabey a 200 mm lense? The primary reason im getting this lens is if I get into some situations where I might need a longer lens examples landscape and archetecture. I might do some action with it as well but probobly not too much. More of the action would probobly be with the shorter lense.

Any advice on lens's brands and sizes would be greatly apprecaited as I am very confused and overwhellmed with all the choices out there.

extraextra

macrumors 68000
Jun 29, 2006
California