Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MT37

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 9, 2006
Oshawa, ON, CA
Well I want to get two more lenses for my Rebel. I want a better zoom lense, and a good fisheye lense. But for the fisheye, I searched google, but didn't come up with many. I found adapters, but I wouldn't mind a whole lense.

I don't want to spend a lot of money on the lenses, but I don't want a cheap lense. So anywhere from $250-$500. Remember I'm from Canada. :p

Also I'm not really good with the whole MM on lenses. So I have no idea what they mean when I look at lenses.

Sorry, I know there are a ton of these threads.

Jay42

macrumors 65816
Jul 14, 2005
I assume you currently have a lens for Rebel. The 18-55 kit lens? If so, you're going to want a longish range telephoto, and possibly the fisheye you suggested. What kind of shooting do you do?

As for millimeters, you've got your wide-angle, normal, telephoto, and super telephoto. At some point, what you see in the viewfinder will be roughly the same size as what you're naked eye sees. This is a "normal" focus length-usually around 50mm, but you can experiment with you're camera. Anything below that focal length (smaller mm) is wide-angle and will look smaller that real life. Around 80-200mm is generally the telephoto category. Over 200 is considered super telephoto. This is my opinion, it differs depending on who you ask.

I believe Canon only makes one fisheye lens, the 15mm f/2.8, but it is over $500 US. As for a zoom I highly recommend the Canon 70-200 f/4 L. It is a professional lens that pretty much gets nothing but positive reviews. A little over your budget but well worth it IMO, and plenty fast unless you shoot a lot of sports.