Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

paddyhazard

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 27, 2010
London
I'm just getting into photography and have a lumix fx38 (fz35 for americans) and am loving it. I know that with a lower res for the same size sensor you usually get better high iso performance which is one of the reasons i went for the now older fz38 instead of the fz100 with 14MP. I still think 12MP is more than i'll ever need so wondering if i switch it down to 10 or 8 MP, will the camera stretch those over the whole sensor, thus giving me better low light performance or is the sensor built for 12MP shooting at a lower res just crops the area on the sensor being used? Low light quality isn't really that important for me as I prefer taking shots outside so I was kind of just wondering.

Thanks

luminosity

macrumors 65816
Jan 10, 2006
Arizona
I'm not sure what kind of quality you're looking at, at least when you compare it to a high ISO legend like the D3/700, or the current king, the D3s. All three feature just twelve megapixels, and that does help a good deal.

OreoCookie

macrumors 68030
Apr 14, 2001
Sendai, Japan
Just don't: the in-camera resizing algorithm will for sure do a poorer job than whatever image editing app you're using (Photoshop or Pixelmator, for instance). Always capture at full resolution. You can always reproduce the effect of `shooting at lower resolution'* in your computer afterwards. However, if you shoot something at lower resolution, you can never get the additional megapixels you've lost back.

* The camera always captures images at the sensor's native resolution. The camera uses an algorithm to resize the full-res image to whatever lower resolution you've selected. Unless you choose 1/4, 1/9, etc. of your resolution, you will introduce additional artifacts.

paddyhazard

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 27, 2010
London