Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

wmmk

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Mar 28, 2006
The Library.
Hey everybody!
I'm going digital, and now that I'm almost positive that I'm getting a Pentax K100D, I need to think about software. Does anyone on MR use LightZone. From what I gather, this is an Aperture alternative. Am I right? If it is, it's half the price and has lower system requirements. Seems nice to me! I'm a truly serious photographer, but I don't have much cash. Will LightZone, PSE, and the Pentax software be enough to produce high quality prints and web material? I also want a good level of flexibility.
Thanks in advance for helping out!:)

Aperture

macrumors 68000
Mar 19, 2006
PA
Hey Will. The EDU discount on Aperture is $150, is that out of the price range? I really think that is a great app, I might be getting it later this year.

Edit: I see the "Light Zone" is only $89. Why not buy a used copy here or on eBay? (Aperture) They easily go for as much as $80.

Edit 2: + with Aperture 1.5, there are MUCH lower requirements.

wmmk

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Mar 28, 2006
The Library.
schaef2493 said:
Hey Will. The EDU discount on Aperture is $150, is that out of the price range? I really think that is a great app, I might be getting it later this year.
this is true, kevin, although as we're not in college, we're not eligible for apple EDU discounts. anyway, if i happen to be mistaken, then i'd have to go for aperture, as lightzone is $150.

Aperture

macrumors 68000
Mar 19, 2006
PA
Will, do you have any brothers/sisters/cousins/etc that are in college and would buy the software and *give* it to you?;) My brother is currently in college, and at his campus computer store they sell Aperture for $100.

Kevin

FocusAndEarnIt

macrumors 601
May 29, 2005
I agree with Kevin; with the new Aperture, and it's improvements, and it's price range you should use that - all the way.