Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

smiddlehurst

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jun 5, 2007
Hey folks, looking for a little advice on my first faltering steps into doing decent indoor lighting.

I'm currently using a Nikon D90 complete with a SB-400 which is a very nice combo for on-the-fly indoor shooting but I'm looking to play around with some additional light sources for portrait work. Sadly my finances do not currently support particularly lofty ambitions so I've only got a couple of choices:

1) Buy a cheap, no-name 'studio lighting kit'. You know the sort of thing, couple of ~150w strobe lamps, basic stands, umbrella and softbox. Probably very limited in terms of expansion but enough to get started with and I can make a decision on what (if anything) to invest in when I've got some more experience. It'd let me experiment properly as well as getting rid of the camera flash altogether if required. Problem with that route is while it gives a lot of freedom it also needs a lot of setup and my home doesn't have a vast amount of room to play with. Some of my friends have a lot more space but I really don't want to drag a full kit bag around there until AFTER I know what I'm doing.

2) Buy a SB-600 and use it off-camera with the SB-400 on the D90. Obviously that's nowhere near as flexible an option compared to the full kit but it's compact, easy to physically setup (I have a spare tripod around here somewhere) and even if I find myself not using it for 'studio shoots' that often it can always be used as a flash on the D90 and the SB-400 can sit on the D40. Plus if I decide to get rid of it they seem to hang on to a reasonable chunk of their value.