Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

xPAULx

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 14, 2009
Wales (UK)
It is my first time doing this and Im not too sure what lens would be best for shooting live bands!

I have a Canon 18-135mm IS & Canon 50mm 1.8 ii

Also the venue is quite small!

Thanks!

Edge100

macrumors 68000
May 14, 2002
Where am I???
It is my first time doing this and Im not too sure what lens would be best for shooting live bands!

I have a Canon 18-135mm IS & Canon 50mm 1.8 ii

Also the venue is quite small!

Thanks!

The key to live events is using the fastest glass (i.e. largest maximum f/stop) possible. The 50/1.8 is fast, but its autofocus performance isn't the best; it tends to hunt in low light.

The 18-135 f/3.5-5.6 is basically useless for live bands. It's f/5.6 at the long end, and even f/3.5 at the short end will require you to use very high ISO sensitivities to get decent shutter speeds. Not saying you can't try, but in my experience with event photography, f/2.8 is the bare minimum. You'll find that most venues will be at best f/2, ISO1600, 1/60, which is pretty dark. Hence the need for fast glass.

Would suggest you start out with the 50 f/1.8 and see how that goes. If the AF performance is ok for you, then you should be fine. If you can, try to rent an 85 f/1.8 (which has stellar AF performance) and/or a 35 f/1.4L (for wider shots).

sidewinder

macrumors 68020
Dec 10, 2008
Northern California
If you are going to be doing a lot of photography like this, you will want to invest in a camera that has better low light (high ISO) performance than your 7D.

S-

PimpDaddy

macrumors 6502
May 9, 2007
The key to live events is using the fastest glass (i.e. largest maximum f/stop) possible. The 50/1.8 is fast, but its autofocus performance isn't the best; it tends to hunt in low light.