Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Jonesee

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 3, 2009
I am looking to buy my first DSLR; I have traveloled to many times and not had quality photos, not enough depth, exposure etc.

I have been looking at the CANON 40D and ESO 30D and a couple Nikons.
I need a camera that can meet my needs for what I would be using this camera for; there is a lot; but I need it to meet all of these needs; the less accessories the better; however I am aware that what I need can not solely be met with just the main camera body. I am not good with the technical terms, or not sure what features would meet these needs so be as specific as possible please and thank you!

I am going to Africa and New York, taking a roadtrip to LA and shooting photos at dance battles and head shots. There will be lots of landscapes, lots of potraits and action shots (dancers dancing, and driving in a car taking quick shots.

here is what I need:

a>Allows me to take depth (I can see the valleys and the mountains beyond it; I've had cameras that just blur it into one and you can't get that depth in their)
b> Produces high quality portrait photos (that crispness and detail)
c>Action shots (I'll be sitting in a car a lot with my camera out the window, or taking pictures of running herds and people dancing along with sports.
d>a camera that can take a nice landscape picture; wide.
e>Night shots with little to no light, but I don't want everything to be washed out
f>Night photos in cities that are swarming with street lights, headlights and flourescent neon signs.
g> I need a camera that captures sunsets, sun rises, rainy days, etc.
h>I would also like todo some macros.

I am new to photography but I want a good camera that I can build my kit on.

I will be learning how to do it from friends who went to school for photography, forums and classes as well as exploring my camera myself.