Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

BababooHi

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 30, 2020
I'm new to Macs and I'm looking for advice on an external drive for my iMac. 2020 27" Retina 5K. It currently has a 1TB internal SSD and I use 2TB of cloud storage. I am in the process of copying data from my old PC to this iMac and it includes a lot of photos so I can't really proceed until I get an external drive otherwise I'll fill up the internal drive on this thing rather quickly. The things that are important to me for an external drive are:

1. Solid State (Because I want fast retrieval for pictures that end up on it)
2. At least 2TB to give me some room for future data
3. I'll be using it for time machine also. I'm not sure if that effects how large of a drive I should get.
4. I would like a drive with fast data exchange rates. I feel like it should connect with Thunderbolt in order to help facilitate that. At the very least perhaps it should be USB-C compatible.

Any advice or input would be greatly appreciated and/or recommendations for a good drive.

(Do I really even need this drive to be a SSD or is that unnecessary overkill? It certainly drives up the price)

chscag

macrumors 601
Feb 17, 2008
Fort Worth, Texas
Samsung T7 external portable SSD:

Amazon also sells a 2TB T7

Fishrrman

macrumors Penryn
Feb 20, 2009
"I'll be using it for time machine also. I'm not sure if that effects how large of a drive I should get."

I would strongly suggest that you DO NOT use the same drive for your tm backup as you do for "general storage" (i.e. photo library).

Use A SEPARATE, DEDICATED DRIVE for your tm backup. Yes, I realize this means purchasing another drive. TM doesn't require speed, so this drive can be platter-based to save $$$.

By doing so, can you now get away with a 1tb external SSD for photo storage?
That too will save you a good amount of $$$.