Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Scylax

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 14, 2009
Before anyone tells me, I know there are more important factors than megapixels, and I'd love some advice on those too. But anyway...

I'm looking to buy a new camera, and have been researching some high-end point-and-shoot and some entry-level DSLR's and I don't know what to choose. I am a complete beginner, only having taken very basic point-and-shoot pictures on a basic digital camera, but I really want to improve. My camera has broken, and rather than replace it with another cheap compact I want something better.

Most of my shots are of pets, indoors, in not the best of lights. I know I need a good zoom (being disabled and walking oddly it's hard to get close without freaking things out-zoom may not be as good as real proximity, but works). I also want to be able to enlarge my shots if I get good-to A1 maybe-hence the megapixels question.

I need something that's not too complex, and will let me take shots as soon as I get it, but let me learn too. I am worried about the weight and cost of a DSLR, but will look for ways around that if that's best. Please forgive the long post-any advice will be very welcome!

toxic

macrumors 68000
Nov 9, 2008
just to get this out of the way: an A1 print (~33x23") at 100 DPI requires 8MP. at 150 DPI, you need 16MP. for smaller prints, you'd want 200 DPI+, but you won't be studying an A1 print from reading distance, so you won't need an absurd amount of DPI/MP.

but really, megapixels shouldn't be your primary concern. a 12MP camera with a 24x36mm sensor yields more resolution than a camera with a 4x6mm sensor. so either you go with an SLR system (bulky and expensive) or take the resolution hit (which you probably won't notice coming from a P&S).

if you wanna try out an SLR, stick with the smaller, entry-level cameras, or Olympus.