Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Draythor

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 12, 2006
Exeter University, UK
Hi Guys,
I'm only a poor student and haven't yet managed to afford myself a proper DSLR camera. I quite like photography though and am looking to get some helpful criticism.
If you could spare some time to look at some of my better photos and tell me what you think and where I'm going wrong, that'd be fantastic.

Thanks

Designer Dale

macrumors 68040
Mar 25, 2009
Folding space
Hi. You're going a lot more "right" than "wrong". I copied two photos out of your Flickr setup so that I can comment more easily.

You have a decent camera. Work with it until you can afford to move up to a dslr. Composition is much more important than camera. That comes later.

I like the tree and the way that the horizon sweeps the eye up and to the right. Your colors and contrast are fine for where you are at this time. Work on keeping the subject out of the center of the frame. Frame or crop the image so that the tree sits decisively to either the right or left of center. Clipping that scrub bush on the far left would enhance the smooth flow up the frame. My design instructor taught us to make things look intentional. Something at the edge of a frame should be either in or out. Try to see details like this when you frame up a photo.

The same could be said for the harbor shot. The light area (rock?) at the bottom keeps my eye from the scene as does the blue thingy in the water on the left edge. I would have waited for the boat to move a bit, if it was in motion, so that the red buoy was either ahead of or behind the boat.

These are the things I see in photos. I'm a hobby photographer with an art background and design training.

Remember the most important thing; keep shooting. Posting into the Fortnight Challenge thread would be a good thing for you to do. Check it out if you haven't already.