Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ald0

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 14, 2019
Hello,

I am a web and mobile developer, I work most of the time on Visual Code on web projects (JS, Node, Ruby...) and I also work from time to time on cross platforms mobile projects with Xcode and Android Studio with tools like Flutter, React Native or Native Script...

I do not think I need ultra-powerful equipment because I'm used to work with older Macs (MBP 2009 with ssd and 8go ram, & iMac 2011), and it works without much problem.

Now I have to update my equipment to get the latest version of Mac OS and Xcode because my current computers can't be updated.

My ideal budget is 1500 € but I can go up to 2000 € if really necessary. I would prefer a laptop for practical reasons. I think 16GB of RAM is essential, but I can make a sacrifice on the size of the SSD and take only 128GB. I'm a little worried about keyboard problems on recent models...

Which equipment do you think is best suited to my needs and financial means?

Is a Macbook Air 2018 sufficient? Should I buy a used 2015 model instead? or even a 2018 Mac Mini ?

Thank you very much in advance for your help and feedback.

olup

Cancelled
Oct 11, 2011
Hello,

I am a web and mobile developer, I work most of the time on Visual Code on web projects (JS, Node, Ruby...) and I also work from time to time on cross platforms mobile projects with Xcode and Android Studio with tools like Flutter, React Native or Native Script...

I do not think I need ultra-powerful equipment because I'm used to work with older Macs (MBP 2009 with ssd and 8go ram, & iMac 2011), and it works without much problem.

Now I have to update my equipment to get the latest version of Mac OS and Xcode because my current computers can't be updated.