Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

GhostriderTC

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 7, 2022
I am a web/software dev and I have always been in the habit of keeping everything in the cloud for the ease of having everything accessible on any device (phone, laptop, desktop and tablet) and for backup purposes (and sometimes reverting to an older version). I have used Dropbox in the past but with the issues of them not having a native silicone app until just recent I have moved over to OneDrive as their app became available in Jan 2022. Also I have 1TB free with 3 accounts as I have 3 business email addresses setup and I get 1TB free with every account. But now I am at my wits end and I just cannot find a good solution because cloud storage on a Mac M1 (16" Pro) just does not seem to work well (compared to my Windows Desktop). I have tried the following

1. Apple iCloud - very slow and no versioning. I once waited 5 minutes to upload a file (2MB) from my MacBook so I could open it on my phone. Doesn't work the best either on Windows.

2. OneDrive - horribly slow on my MacBook (keep on getting, cloud not communicate with Helper accpliceation and then I know I am done for) and once a file is downloaded it is marked as downloaded but its not. I cannot copy or move it. It needs to reconnect and actually download it properly. I tried to copy an entire previous keep on device directory and it needed to go online and download. Its just really not usable.

3. Dropbox - I am trying again as I have a free account and will see how this goes? Problem on Windows though (I have a windows desktop) I always have to fix the shell icon overlays as Windows is limited to the number you can have.

4. Google drive? Is this any good? I have a gmail account but how does it work

5. Any others?