Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gloryofgreece

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 6, 2008
seattle
Is there a concern with only 8 gig of RAM, M1 mac could use more swap memory than that of 16 gig ram, thus causing wear and tear on the SSD over time leading to premature demise?

I am a computer science student, but not a power user. i dont really use any photography or video editing tools.

rui no onna

Contributor
Oct 25, 2013
There's discussion on this on the 8GB vs 16GB RAM thread as well as here:

DriveDX reports attributes for Available Spare, Life Percentage Used and Host Writes (albeit, the accuracy of Host Writes is in question).

@thinkingBanana has reported host writes of 6.1/6.7 TiB/TB but even with those relatively high numbers, Life Percentage Used still hasn't moved at all.

At this point, we're just at wait and see.

Yebubbleman

macrumors 603
May 20, 2010
Los Angeles, CA
Is there a concern with only 8 gig of RAM, M1 mac could use more swap memory than that of 16 gig ram, thus causing wear and tear on the SSD over time leading to premature demise?

I am a computer science student, but not a power user. i dont really use any photography or video editing tools.
We're talking about a $200 difference for a component that you'll likely want to upgrade down the road anyway, but won't be able to since you can't upgrade the RAM on an M1 Mac. I'd just spec for 16GB of RAM and call it a day. If you're a student, then it becomes a $180 upgrade.

Reactions: Never mind

moldy lunchbox

macrumors 6502a
Sep 9, 2010
Sunny California