Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Slix

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Mar 24, 2010
Hey all!

I'm fairly new to Mac OS X Server, but I'm learning as I go!

I know you can do this, but apparently it's either never been an issue for people or for some reason it's just really hard to search online for. :/

I've been trying to get a Share Point on my Mac OS X Server Leopard 10.5 machine to share Applications to clients on the network. Everything seems to go as planned when setting up the Share Point with Automount and using the option "Use for /Network/Applications" in the Edit menu there.
Picture 1.png

However, after I connect to it via the /Network/Applications folder, I get this error: "The operation could not be completed. An unexpected error occurred (error code -43)." This happens on both the Server machine or a client PowerBook.
Picture 2.png

Any ideas?

Slix

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Mar 24, 2010
Just tried giving both the Server Admin and myself (nSlix) the read/write permissions for the Share Point, no luck accessing the /Network/Applications folder. Still gives the same error. Is there a cache that needs to be reset for that folder, as I can connect to the Server itself and access the Share Point that way (it's a folder called Shared Applications there)?

micahgartman

macrumors regular
Feb 22, 2005
Houston, TX, USA
Just tried giving both the Server Admin and myself (nSlix) the read/write permissions for the Share Point, no luck accessing the /Network/Applications folder. Still gives the same error. Is there a cache that needs to be reset for that folder, as I can connect to the Server itself and access the Share Point that way (it's a folder called Shared Applications there)?

Don't forget to propagate those permissions, too ;)

micahgartman

macrumors regular
Feb 22, 2005
Houston, TX, USA