Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TechInit

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 10, 2019
Scotland
Hi all,

I'm a novice when it comes to power supplies, and how much power specific things can output, so I've come here for help. I've decided to get a GTX 780 for my Mac Pro 3,1, because I want something I could use if I ever upgrade, even if it's bottlenecked slightly, however, that's not the focus of this post. I know the Mac Pro 2008 PSU is rated for about 900w. I know that the 6-pin connectors on the Motherboard are rated for 75w each. With this, this totals 150w, which is the amount an 8-pin connector is rated for outputting. Does this mean I could get a 2xMini 6-pin to 8 pin, and have things run fine? Also Is this advisable, or inadvisable? I also want to know how well a 2xMolex to 6-pin would work. I've heard mixed things, with some people saying its fine, and others saying it isn't. I'd just be needing it for roughly 25w, as the PCI-e slot supplies 75w, alongside the 2x75w from the 6-pins.

Also am I doing this right or am I being a dumb dumb?

(also the 780 is rated for a TDP of 250w)

TechInit

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 10, 2019
Scotland
Its true the GTX 780 has both an 8 pin and a 6 pin, and I'm glad to hear that the 2x6-pin to 8 pin will work fine, I was just also wondering that for the extra 25w that's needed, am I alright to use a 2xMolex to 6-pin, as I have no other method of getting the extra required power?

Thanks for the help!

mikas

macrumors 6502a
Sep 14, 2017
Finland
It's not likely that the card draws 75 watts from the PCIe slot, they very rarely do that. You will have to assure there is enough power for the 6-pin connector too in your card, and it could be as much as 75 w - not 25 w. I haven't tried to use those CD/DVD molex connectors for extra power myself. I have used SATA power though, but that is a different specification.