Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bennorthenor

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 25, 2024
I have a Mac Studio Ultra (M1) and I am a television editor. I just bought some KRK Rokit 7 G4 speakers and I'm confused about an audio interface. I have a Big Knob Passive laying around, but will I need that? Do I need a focusrite scarlett? Can I just hook these speakers up to my Studio Ultra? Please help and Thank you!

MajorFubar

macrumors 68020
Oct 27, 2021
Lancashire UK
There's no real reason why you can't hook them up to the headphone output on your Studio via your Big Knob. You just need a 1/8" TRS to TRS to go from the headphone output on your Studio to the 'B' Line Input on your Big Knob, then two 1/4" TRS cables from your Big Knob to your speakers. I wouldn't bother introducing the complication of an audio interface unless you're going to need to record any audio, because why bother complicating the setup? Set the headphone output on the Mac to maximum and use your Big Knob for controling the volume. And if this reply gets past this site's automatic quarantine then I'm a Dutchman (and i'm not a Dutchman).

Reactions: _Mitchan1999

olavsu1

macrumors regular
Jan 3, 2022
It depends on what ambitions you have. do you do surround sound?
Of course a standalone sound card is better than any built-in one.
Big Knob Passive helps when standalone sound card exists.

bennorthenor

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 25, 2024