Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Eauboy

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 28, 2008
Washington, DC
I've read some of the many threads r.e. the merits of the Mac OS versus the higher cost of the Mac hardware. I'm not trying to beat that horse.

What I *am* curious about are the benefits to digital photographers in particular from using a Mac versus a PC. Please correct me if I'm wrong, but if in our role as photographer we spend most of our time in one or two applications then does it really matter which underlying OS is at work?

Here's my situation. I'm a long-time PC/Windows user. (Okay, DOS 3.1, but we don't discuss that one.) Although I make my living in the Windows world, I am by no means a Microsoft devotee. I'd absolutely get a Mac if it was the better choice.

My Thinkpad (which I have no problem with whatsoever) is getting a bit long in the tooth, plus my wife has indicated maybe she'd like to use the Thinkpad if we get a second machine.

I need to do the same things that almost everyone else here does: import, organize, find, caption, edit, share and enhance photos. Currently I'm using an outdated version of Elements (2.x?) which I never have cared for, so I'll almost certainly pick up Lightroom or Aperture unless Elements has really improved.

Would getting a Mac just be putting a pretty face on the same processes, or would there be genuine productivity/experience benefits.

Thanks...

GoCubsGo

macrumors Nehalem
Feb 19, 2005
Honestly, if I did not own a Mac I'd buy it just for Aperture. Sorry but I simply love how it works. I also always thought (and could be wrong) that Photoshop was originally designed for the Mac platform. I can tell you PS CS runs better on my 3 year old powerbook than it did on my brand new PC...3 years ago. ;)

Mark Morb

macrumors regular
Dec 19, 2007
Norfolk