Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Do I pay $300 to go from a base M1 MBA to a base M2 MBA?

• Total voters

HappySadMonkey

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 16, 2022
I currently own a base model MacBook Air (M1, 2020) and have the option to pay $300 to trade it in for a new MacBook Air (M2, 2022).

I'm considering going for it based on the slightly larger screen, MagSafe, camera, and M2, but have also heard that the base model M2 is slower at SSD swap than the base model M1. I suppose I'd also be getting a new battery at max health so that might factor in?

I'm a masters student who mostly browses the web, does fairly light work in affinity designer, and will be using GIS programs.

Would you go for this? Any thoughts or comments would be really helpful! Thanks

Reactions: VaruLV

JW5566

macrumors regular
Jun 10, 2021
I probably would. As you say, there's Magsafe which frees up a USBC port and you'll be getting a new machine. I think the slower SSD is largely overblown for general users though everyone has an opinion on this!

RichP74

macrumors regular
Dec 16, 2012
Sounds like you know about the SSD nonsense - you'll want to pay extra and get the 512 gig storage. I got an M2 with 512 and 16 gigs of RAM, and this thing flies. Pretty amazing laptop. The Darth Vader look is pretty sweet too!

sjperformance

macrumors 68010
Oct 7, 2013
Miami 305
Sounds like you know about the SSD nonsense - you'll want to pay extra and get the 512 gig storage. I got an M2 with 512 and 16 gigs of RAM, and this thing flies. Pretty amazing laptop. The Darth Vader look is pretty sweet too!

This is my same set up. 512/16. Returned base and 8/512. I don't buy laptops that often. Last lap top buy was 7-8 years ago (Dell). This M2 air should last me a couple of years.

jdb8167

macrumors 601
Nov 17, 2008