Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Jhonyboy

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 18, 2023
hello everyone thats my first time here so i actually going to try and open a dissection for me
i just bought my new macbook air m1 2020 with 8gb and i have one question that i would like to ask does the 8gb is enough for like surrfing the web watching checking emails and all the basic stuff?
like i am no student i bought my macbook beacuse i didn't have any laptop for years..

thank you for your help!

Jhonyboy

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 18, 2023
I've been using my base model M1 Air for the last several years as a teacher in my classroom and it handles everything I throw at it. Two browsers, MS Office, programming, it handles it all at once without breaking a sweat.
oh really? could you tell for how many years this macbook should be fine?
i mean when do i need to start to think of getting a new one?;)

ignatius345

macrumors 604
Aug 20, 2015
hello everyone thats my first time here so i actually going to try and open a dissection for me
i just bought my new macbook air m1 2020 with 8gb and i have one question that i would like to ask does the 8gb is enough for like surrfing the web watching checking emails and all the basic stuff?
like i am no student i bought my macbook beacuse i didn't have any laptop for years..

thank you for your help!
Yep. It's fine. I have exactly this machine and it's fine for that and more. I do a fair bit of design work on it and it rarely misses a beat.

When it gets time to replace it you'll know because it will start lagging doing the stuff you try to make it do.

MultiFinder17

macrumors 68030
Jan 8, 2008
Tampa, Florida
oh really? could you tell for how many years this macbook should be fine?
i mean when do i need to start to think of getting a new one?;)