Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

siaracci

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 15, 2023
Hi guys!

I currently own a Macbook Pro M1 Pro 10 CPU 16 GPU and 16 GB RAM. I'm a filmmaker/video editor and as until a while this 16 GB ram was okay now I'm experiencing a slowdown, if I give a lot of effects it just lags and slows down my work, it just pisses me off because I don't have smooth performance and I would like to do a lot of stuff in Adobe After Effects and on my Macbook I don't have smooth playback on 4k video and I work mostly in 4k, I shoot on Sony a7sIII myself.

I saw an offer for an almost new one because it has 5 cycles Macbook M1 MAX 64 GB RAM 32 GPU and I thought it would make me work faster and more efficient. I would sell mine, add money and have a maxed out one. Only here is the problem, I keep seeing that in March or April, a new Macbook M2 MAX will come out. I have seen articles that supposedly even the end of January, then suddenly in June, because delays. It is known, there is nothing to believe all this, BUT. It's not that I have to have it already, admittedly, it lags and slows down a bit for me, RAM is usually used up and swaps a lot.

I honestly don't know what to do, that's why I'm asking you guys. What would you guys do if you were me? Take the M1 MAX now, or wait until the M2 MAX comes out?

Thanks in advance for any answers.

ondioline

macrumors 6502
May 5, 2020
Depends on how good a deal it is, I guess. At this point I'd wait personally. The M2 Pro/Max will presumably come with beefed up memory configurations like the MBA. lpddr5x as well.

siaracci

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 15, 2023
Depends on how good a deal it is, I guess. At this point I'd wait personally. The M2 Pro/Max will presumably come with beefed up memory configurations like the MBA. lpddr5x as well.