Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

iirantzu

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 8, 2018
Hi everyone, I'm an student in Junior year highschool and I want my mac to last me throughout university too. I'm going to be storing all of my photos and videos in an external hard drive, but I wonder if 128GB would be enough for all the apps that I'll probably need. Btw I'm studying veterinary science.
Thank you in advance:)

Last edited:

Samuelsan2001

macrumors 604
Oct 24, 2013
Hi everyone, I'm an student in Junior year highschool and I want my mac to last me throughout university too. I'm going to be storing all of my photos and videos in an external hard drive, but I wonder if 128GB would be enough for all the apps that I'll probably need.
Thank you in advance:)

That will be very tight through university, I would recommend a minimum of 256gb to be honest, especially as you give us no idea of what you are doing at university and whether you’ll need to run vms for Windows only apps etc.

Reactions: SDColorado

madgibbon

macrumors regular
Mar 1, 2013
I would say get as much storage as you can afford. However I purchased a 128 GB MBP and spent the difference between that and 256 GB model on a Thunderbolt 3 enclosure an 500 GB Samsung Evo SSD. This works really well and the external disk is so fast I sometimes forget its external. I run Windows 10 and Windows Server 2016 VMs from it without any issues.

ascender

macrumors 603
Dec 8, 2005
128GB is definitely still doable given how cloud storage solutions have matured, but as others have said, it depends on what you're going to do with it. In my case, it was having space for VMs which made me go for the larger HDD and RAM on my MBP, but even then, external disks are really cheap now, so if you're using it as a desktop most of the time, you can maybe get round it that way.