Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

leanda

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 16, 2018
Hi

I'm contemplating a move from my creaking 2013 27" iMac to the Macbook Pro 13". For the last 20 years of Mac use I've always had a Mac desktop as my main workhorse but recently I've felt the need have some freedom and be untethered from the desk. I'm a designer/developer and trying to keep the development environment in sync on two Macs (iMac and vintage 2012 MBP) is a nightmare. I'm thinking about pulling the trigger on the 13-inch MacBook Pro 2.3GHz i5 processor, 16GB ram and 1TB of storage.

First question, I'm tempted by the LG Ultrafine 5K, would this MBP config power a 5k monitor without problems? Would it power two of these displays if I wanted to add a second down the line?

Are there any other displays I should consider?

And a side question, is there any extra bits and pieces I should consider picking up to make this transition from a desktop easier? I have a lot of USB peripherals, speakers, printers, external drives, etc. Not sure how I'm going to connect all this stuff whilst still making it easy to quickly pick up the MBP and go!

Thanks

Glmnet1

macrumors 6502a
Oct 21, 2017
First question, I'm tempted by the LG Ultrafine 5K, would this MBP config power a 5k monitor without problems?
It should, it's officially supported by Apple for this model.

Would it power two of these displays if I wanted to add a second down the line?
No, only 1 5k display at a time. 2 4k is fine though.

Simultaneously supports full native resolution on the built-in display at millions of colours and:

• One display with 5120-by-2880 resolution at 60Hz at over a billion colours
  • Up to two displays with 4096-by-2304 resolution at 60Hz at millions of colours
  • Up to two displays with 3840-by-2160 resolution at 60Hz at over a billion colours
Are there any other displays I should consider?