Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Roelfoubert

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 30, 2016
My Old model is a mid 2012 macbook pro 15" non retina. I want to buy a new 2016 model, but I'm not sure which model. The 13" or 15". At the moment I'm using FCPX and Photoshop sometimes. This would be no problem for the 13". The only problem is that I use parallels for school to run Autodesk Inventor 2017 and I don't know the dual-core and the graphics are good enough in the 13" model. I would take 16gb of ram and 512 ssd but I'm not sure about the model.

Chucky666UK

macrumors member
May 17, 2008
United Kingdom
Same dilemma here. I am a teacher so only use software such as Activispire, MS Office, Numbers, etc. Watch some videos and play the odd game (Cricket?) and Football Manager 2017 in Bootcamp. I know i dont really need the QuadCore or 16GB but its the screen size (I have the 15") that draws me to it over and over again. I have the base 15" and the base 13" TB models at home with a return date of 7 Jan. I just cannot decide which to keep as one has to go back!
The 13" is very nice and portable but now that i have used the 15" the 13" seems too cramped!

maflynn

macrumors Haswell
May 3, 2009
I've used both a 13" and 15" form factor and here's my $.02

The 15" model has a larger display, so you get more screen real estate work with, I think this is important for PS. I have no idea about FCPX because I don't use it. The 15" also has a better GPU and quad core processors.

The 13" has a better price tag, and is much more portable. I actually gravitated towards the 13" form factor partly because the laptop is no longer my main machine. I have an iMac and use a laptop when I travel. The smaller form factor works so much better in hotels, on my lap, in a plane. I'm liking how portable it really is.