Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

EEzycade

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 29, 2018
Mesa, Arizona
Config: Base MBP 14-inch (512 SSD, 16gb RAM, M1 Pro)

Like many of you, I was anxiously awaiting the new 14-inch MBP with Apple silicon. And like many of you, I was a bit grumpy at the price tag of the base model. But I decided to pull the trigger on the base model, ordered it, and picked it up on the same day. First I'll detail the reasons I decided to buy. Background: I am a web developer.

1. Figured 16gb of RAM is always helpful.
  2. Need a reliable keyboard, it would hurt my workflow to have my old butterfly keyboard fail and have to replace/repair suddenly.
  3. 512gb SSD is more than my old 256gb.
  4. And of course some arguably (to me) less important reasons. These include: the speakers, bigger and better screen, the design, function row, etc.
Now on to the impressions after a week or so of ownership:

1. Screen. Wow! Brighter, deeper blacks. Looks great. As for the notch, it's practically disappeared.
  2. Speakers. Impressive, better than my 2018 MBP 13-inch.
  3. Battery. Gets the job done. I'd say a bit better than I expected. But nothing out of this world.
  4. Keyboard. No complaints. I like the feel and the additional travel. Plus I'm more confident in it, and not afraid it will become unusable.
  5. Trackpad. Huge. Great.
  6. Performance. Definitely snappier than my old MBP. Haven't heard the fans once. More than enough for me.
  7. Design. Initially wasn't a fan. But after looking at it on Apple's site and in many reviews, and now having it at home, it is a beautiful machine. Love the rounded bottom and flat-ish top. The "MacBook Pro" engraved on the bottom is also cool.
Overall: