Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bina

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 24, 2018
Should I get a 2015 MBP (2.8 ghz i7 16 go 1 TB or A newer 2017/2018 MBP i9 32gb 1 TB MBP? I am a designer do u think I should get the 2018 for $900 more?

Mac-key

macrumors 6502a
Apr 1, 2010
Alabama
As someone who does professional photography and video editing on a 2015 MBP - I can say that it's a great machine. I even have the BASE model with no dedicated GPU and it still gets the job done. HOWEVER, we're more than half way thru 2018... a 2015 will be a legacy machine in about 18 months. Do you really wanna pay that much $$$ for a laptop Apple will stop supporting, or more importantly SERVICING in a year and a half?

AppleHaterLover

macrumors 68020
Jun 15, 2018
You should not buy a 2015 MBP unless you're on a budget for a $1700 machine, in which case you absolutely should get a 2015 MBP.

But choosing it based on anything but price is not the intelligent decision. The new machines are much better.

bina

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 24, 2018
As a designer what apps do you use? i9+32gb sounds overkill.
I use photoshop, illustrator, indesign. Work on .psb files sometimes.
[doublepost=1532472980][/doublepost]
You should not buy a 2015 MBP unless you're on a budget for a $1700 machine, in which case you absolutely should get a 2015 MBP.

But choosing it based on anything but price is not the intelligent decision. The new machines are much better.
As someone who does professional photography and video editing on a 2015 MBP - I can say that it's a great machine. I even have the BASE model with no dedicated GPU and it still gets the job done. HOWEVER, we're more than half way thru 2018... a 2015 will be a legacy machine in about 18 months. Do you really wanna pay that much $$$ for a laptop Apple will stop supporting, or more importantly SERVICING in a year and a half?

AppleHaterLover